Day visit to Taj Mahal Agra

Day visit to Taj Mahal Agra

Perhaps the smallest so far but long due and worth writing, I am penning down my memories of recent visit to see Taj Mahal, Agra.

Haven’t been fond of art and monuments to a large scale, neither do I empathise with the love and sacrifice that underwent in the construction of the monument which is considered as one of the seven wonders of the world. But there has always been a curiosity to see it and check out what the hype is all about so, this time, when I was travelling to Agra city for work, I decided that I will spare some time to satiate my curiosity.

As I mentioned I was travelling for work, I couldn’t think of travelling at slow and leisurely pace, thought of exploring the Yamuna expressway that took me about 6 hours to reach Agra from Lucknow. The toll is a little heavy on the pocket however the route is smooth, traffic and hassle free that makes the journey quite cozy.

The former capital, Agra doesn’t have much to do and people anyways stay here for a day or two, visit the astounding monuments, local markets and close their itineraries for the place. I was put up in close proximity to Taj Mahal, hotel Howard Plaza for a night. It’s a cozy hotel with all the amenities, courteous staff and good service.

Coming straight to the best part of the visit, seeing the Taj Mahal up close!

The structure is just mesmerising from the moment you set your eyes on it. I entered from the western gate, went through the security and was standing in front of the Taj within minutes. May be, because it wasn’t the tourist season or I got lucky. I spent about 2-3 hours walking along the monument, gawking at the beauty from every angle possible and taking some good pictures. If you are planning to visit anytime soon, here is a pro tip:

Once a month on the full moon night, Taj Mahal is open to viewing during night time. I wonder and wish what an amazing opportunity would it be to enjoy. Plan accordingly !

The cherry on top is that Agra fort is just 2.5 kilometres from Taj Mahal, so you can get some time to visit the main residence of the Mughal emperors before they moved their capital to Red fort in Delhi which you all must have studied in your history class. What else should I say about these two monuments, especially Taj that hasn’t been said before!

You have good eateries, small restaurants, sight seeing historical monuments and evening bazaars in the vicinity to keep your tour fun and frolic through out your stay. If you are planning to visit, do keep in mind that Taj Mahal is shut on Fridays for religious activists and is not open for visitors. So plan accordingly!

Plus, don’t forget to boost me by hitting like and feel free to shoot any questions if you have or just in case you need any support during your visit. Thanks and see you again, hopefully soon!

Leave a comment